Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board (WSMB)

Established in 1983 as part of a Wisconsin-mandated checkoff, the WSMB works every day to maximize the profitability of Wisconsin soybean producers. Grassroots and farmer-led, the WSMB dedicates itself to building demand, creating new uses and focusing on disease research for Wisconsin soybeans.

Our Board is committed to statewide education and outreach programs to inform consumers about the benefits of soy. And it’s our mission to maximize the profitability of Wisconsin’s soybean producers by investing Wisconsin’s soybean checkoff funds in targeted domestic and international research, promotion and communication initiatives.

Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board
Board of Directors

Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board is governed by an elected volunteer board of 7 farmers. These 7 farmer-directors oversee the state investment of your Wisconsin Checkoff Dollars.

Patrick Mullooly, District 5
Clinton – 608.289.3126

Vice President
Andy Bensend, District 1
Dallas – 715.837.1409

Jonathan Gibbs
Fox Lake, WI

State Directors
Gary Seipel – District 2
Eau Galle

Kevin Bork (Aimee) – District 3

Jonathan Gibbs, District 4
Fox Lake, WI – 920-392-6705

Steve Wilkens, District 6
Random Lake – 920-889-5509

Matt Wagenson, District 7
Bear Creek, WI – 715-701-0751

USB Directors

Nancy Kavazanjian (Charles Hammer)
Beaver Dam, WI

Jennifer Poltermann (Brad)
Genoa City, WI

Charles (Chuck) Prellwitz (Diane)
Ripon, WI

North Central Soybean Research Program (NCSRP)

Mike Cerny
Sharon, WI

Executive Staff
Robert Karls, Executive Director

Lisa Schauer, Office Manager

4414 Regent St.
Madison, WI 53705
608.274.7522 Office
608.274.3988 Fax

WSA Logo

Wisconsin Soybean Association (WSA) 

Founded in 1972, the Wisconsin Soybean Association (WSA) is a grassroots, farmer-led, membership organization. It is supported by entirely by membership dues. This is not a checkoff funded page. And the information, policies, and/or content on this page are not funded by soybean checkoff dollars.

Since the soybean checkoff is prohibited by law from lobbying, WSA works to ensure that sound policies are in place to enhance the future of soybean farming. We work on behalf of our 1,200 members to positively impact regulatory and legislative issues on a local, state and national level.

Mission Statement: 
The WSA is a progressive organization devoted to bringing together all persons interested in the production, marketing, distribution, and use of soybeans and soybean products.

Strategic goals:

  • To increase grassroots participation and our total association membership.
  • To communicate and inform our existing and prospective members on public policies regarding the Wisconsin soybean producer.
  • To promote the association’s visibility and increase its public relations thereby improving its image among policymakers and the general public.

Wisconsin Soybean Association
Board of Directors

Brad Kremer, Pittsville, 715.213.4586

Don Lutz, Scandinavia, 715.412.3686

Adam Steen, Burlington, 765.748.7790

Mike Bertram, Arlington, 608.576.7392

State Directors
John Simon, Oconomowoc, 920.253.0198
Dr. Shawn Conley, University of Wisconsin, 608.262.7975
Rochelle Schnadt, Lodi, 608.963.1759
Tony Mellenthin, Menomonie, 715.495.8284
Matt Karls, Hixton, 608.214.1129
Becky Heck, Barneveld, 715.450.1291
Eric Smith, Fremont, 920.843.2299

ASA Director Representatives
Brad Kremer, Pittsville, 715.213.4586
Don Lutz, Scandinavia, 715.412.3686

Executive Staff
Robert Karls, Executive Director

Lisa Schauer, Office Manager

4414 Regent St.
Madison, WI 53705
608.274.7522 Office
608.274.3996 Fax