US EPA action on Chlorpyrifos

Chairman’s Mark a Welcome Sign for Farm Bill

The American Soybean Association (ASA), which members of the Wisconsin Soybean Association belong to as part of your membership privileges, hailed the award of the ‘Chairman’s mark’ of the farm bill by House Agriculture Committee Chairman Michael Conway of Texas.

(A Chairman’s mark is a proposal put forward by the Chairman in committee consideration at the start of the markup process).

This is the start of a long process with many stages. The ASA is hopeful the Chairman Conway and others will continue negotiations to pass a bill in the House that can find agreement in the Senate and become law this year.

The ASA noted appreciation to Chairman Conway “for including authorization for the Foreign Market Development program, as well as funding for FMD and the Market Access Program. ASA will continue to press for the doubled funding we originally requested for these programs, which farmers across the country leverage to expand our overseas markets”.

Said ASA President John Heisdorffer: “We need to get this farm bill done this year to provide long-term certainty for farmers, given lingering questions on trade and the shaky state of the farm economy.”

Should you wish to make your voice heard on the topic with your elected representatives, here’s a handy list of whom to call:

Sen. Ron Johnson – ask for Meris Petek’s voice mail – 202-224-5323
Sen. Tammy Baldwin—ask for Colleene Thomas voice mail – 202-224-5653
Rep. Ron Kind – ask for Aaron White’s voice mail – 202- 225-5506
Rep. Sean Duffy – ask for Ryan Mc Cormack’s voice mail – 202-225-3365
Rep. Mike Gallagher – ask for Matt Tucker’s voice mail – 202-225-5665
Rep. Paul Ryan – ask for Laura Wiley’s voice mail – 202-225-3031
Rep. Mark Pocan – ask for Syd Terry’s voice mail – 202-225-2906
Rep. Glen Grothman – ask for Chris Grawein’s voice mail – 202-225-2476
Rep. J. Sensenbrenner—ask for Jacob Perterson’s voice  mail – 202-225-5101