USDA Appoints Wisconsin Soybean Farmer to United Soybean Board

U.S. Department of Agriculture Appoints Wisconsin Soybean Farmer to United Soybean Board

MADISON, WI – The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced the appointment of 17 primary members and four alternates to the United Soybean Board. Among the 17 primary members appointed is Nancy Kavazanjian, a resident of Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, and fellow soybean farmer. While her fellow appointees will serve three-year terms, Ms. Kavazanjian will serve a one-year term.

The United Soybean Board runs the industry’s research and promotion program under Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) oversight.  The board also develops budgets and contracts to carry out a coordinated program of promotion, research, consumer information, and industry information—all with the goal to maintain and expand domestic and foreign markets and uses for soybeans and soybean products.

Newly appointed board members are:

  • Arkansas – Robert Petter, De Valls Bluff
  • Georgia – Jesse Patrick, Madison City
  • Illinois – Lynn Rohrscheib, Fairmount
  • Indiana – Jim Douglas, Flat Rock
  • Iowa – April Hemmes, Hampton
  • Kentucky – Brent Gatton, Bremen
  • Louisiana – Garrett Marsh, Tallulah
  • Minnesota – Patrick O’Leary, Benson
  • Missouri – Robert Alpers, Prairie Home
  • Nebraska – Tony Johanson, Oakland
  • North Carolina – Benjamin Derek Potter, Grantsboro
  • North Dakota – Cindy Pulskamp, Hillsboro
  • Ohio – Jeff Magyar, Orwell
  • Pennsylvania – Andrew Fabin, Homer City
  • South Dakota – Tim Ostrem, Centerville
  • Virginia – Shannon Tignor Ellis, Champlain
  • Wisconsin – Nancy Kavazanjian, Beaver Dam (1-year term)

Newly appointed alternates are:

  • Georgia – Mark Ariail, Carnesville
  • New Jersey – Fred R. Catalano, Woodstown (1-year term)
  • South Carolina – Charlie Whiten, Westminster (2-year term)
  • Eastern Region – Mark H. Kable, Charles Town, W. Va. (1-year term)

The board is authorized by the Soybean Promotion, Research, and Information Act and is composed of 78 members representing 29 States and Eastern and Western regions. Members must be soybean producers nominated by a qualified State soybean board.  More information about the board is available on the AMS United Soybean Board webpage.

Media Contact: Todd Maahs, (608) 698-1534 or